ସତ୍ୟର ଜାଗ୍ରତ ପ୍ରହରୀ

Bhartruhari Mahtab appointed pro tem Speaker of Lok Sabha

New Delhi: Cuttack Lok Sabha MP Bhartruhari Mahtab has been appointed as Speaker Protem Speaker of Lok Sabha. President Draupadi Murmu has appointed him as the acting speaker of the Lok Sabha. He has been elected to Lok Sabha 7 times consecutively from Cuttack MP constituency. He was elected to the Lok Sabha 6 times on the BJD ticket, while he was elected from the Lok Sabha seat on the BJP ticket in 2024. Before the election, he left BJD and joined BJP.

President Draupadi Murmu has appointed senior MP Bhartruhari Mahatab as Acting Speaker of the Lok Sabha using the powers conferred by Article 95(1) of the Constitution. He will serve as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha until the election of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. Speaker election will be held on June 26. Prior to this, Acting Speaker will read the oath of office and secrecy to the representatives who have been elected to the Lok Sabha.

Lok Sabha MPs Suresh Kodikunnil, TR Balu, Radha Mohan Singh, Fagan Singh Kulste and Sudeep Bandopadhyay have been selected by President Draupadi Murmu to assist acting speaker in administering the oath to the newly elected members of the 18th Lok Sabha. It has been reported that the President has taken this decision by using the powers given in Article 99 of the Constitution.

Latest news