ସତ୍ୟର ଜାଗ୍ରତ ପ୍ରହରୀ

Lok Sabha elections: Over 61% polling recorded in third phase; Assam sees highest voter turnout

On Tuesday, May 7, 2024, the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections took place in eleven states and territories in India. This phase covered a total of 93 Lok Sabha seats. Notably, the Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state of Gujarat was among the states that voted in this phase. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Surat seat uncontested after the nomination papers of the Congress candidate were rejected and other candidates withdrew from the race.

According to the Election Commission (EC) data, a provisional voter turnout of around 61.5% was recorded so far in the third phase of the elections. The highest polling percentage was witnessed in the BJP-ruled state of Assam, with a turnout of 75.30%, despite overcast skies and light rainfall in most areas. Other states that saw significant voter turnout include West Bengal with 73.9%, Chhattisgarh with 66.99%, Madhya Pradesh with 63.19%, and Gujarat with 56.83%.

In Assam, the four Lok Sabha constituencies that went to the polls had varying voter turnouts. Dhubri recorded the highest turnout at 79.7%, followed by Barpeta at 76.73%, Kokrajhar at 74.24%, and Guwahati at 68.93%.

In Chhattisgarh, seven out of the eleven Lok Sabha seats that voted in the third phase recorded a voter turnout of 66.99%. The constituencies that participated in the elections were Raipur, Durg, Bilaspur, Korba, Janjgir-Champa, Surguja, and Raigarh.

Madhya Pradesh witnessed a voter turnout of 63.19% across nine constituencies that went to the polls in the third phase. The highest turnout was in Rajgarh with 73.63%, followed by Vidisha with 70.48% and Guna with 69.72%.

In Gujarat, a voter turnout of 56.83% was recorded across 25 constituencies. The tribal-reserved Valsad constituency reported the highest turnout at 68.66%, while Amreli saw the lowest at 46.11%.

Bihar saw a voter turnout of around 56% across five Lok Sabha seats, namely Araria, Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Madhepura, and Khagaria. Among these, Supaul witnessed the highest turnout at 58.91%, followed by Araria at 58.57%, Madhepura at 54.92%, Khagaria at 54.35%, and Jhanjharpur at 53.29%.

In Uttar Pradesh, several constituencies witnessed voter turnouts ranging from 51.53% to 61.10%. Notable turnouts include Agra at 51.53%, Aonla at 54.73%, Budaun at 52.77%, Bareilly at 54.21%, Etah at 57.07%, Fatehpur Sikri at 54.93%, Firozabad at 56.27%, Hathras at 53.54%, Mainpuri at 55.88%, and Sambhal at 61.10%.

Overall, the voter turnout in the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections has been significant, with several states witnessing high participation from the electorate.

The third phase of the Lok Sabha elections in India took place on May 7, 2024. Eleven states and territories, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s home state of Gujarat, participated in this phase. The voter turnout varied across different states, with Assam recording the highest turnout at 75.30%. Other states like West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Bihar, and Uttar Pradesh also witnessed significant voter participation. The Lok Sabha elections in India are being conducted in multiple phases.

Latest news